whytheology

For the Intersection of the Everyday and the Sacred

New Series Starting tomorrow: Church History Minute

At the suggestion of my wife, tomorrow I’m beginning a new series. I’m calling it the Church History Minute. Every Wednesday I will try to give a bit sized chunk of Church History. At least at the beginning, rather than just give a random fact, my hope is to give you a significant event or person in the history of the Church. Then I will give a brief description of it. State why you should care about it now, and if space allows of its appropriate, give a random fun fact not as widely known. I hope to do all of this in under 500 words (Way under if I can manage). Hopefully I’ll at least get close most of the time. Again these aren’t detailed analyses, but short bite sized history-in-a-nutshell type of things. The idea is that you get a better picture of where the Church has come from, without feeling like you need an advanced degree to do it.

Admittedly, coming from a baptist background, baptists may occasionally feature more prominently than others, but I will try to resist that urge. So, if you’re interested, come back tomorrow, and every Wednesday, for it. First up, not holding anything back, the First Council of Nicaea.

Single Post Navigation

Join the conversation

